Michael Kupperberg
5 min readJul 27, 2024

--

Entering Death’s Valley

While taking a course in California Ecology, in college, and reading cards, still using playing cards, something odd kept appearing in the cards. The college course included a one week, whirlwind journey, from the Bay Area, to Carson City, Nevada, to Bishop, to Kern County, over to the Coast, and up the coast to where we started. It was to be my first big trip, on my own.

For most twenty year old's, this was no big thing. They had been on overnights, maybe at friend’s house, relatives, vacations, or just taking off. As for me, had not been anywhere overnight without an RN (Registered Nurse), till this trip. Medicine was not nearly as evolved as it is today, which meant that the only way to break me out of a severe asthma attack, was with a shot of Adrenaline. At that time only an RN, could give shots, my mother stepped in to doing it, at home, having been taught by my doctor how. Finally had gotten healthy enough, to have my body at the lower ranges of a normal immune system, and my asthma reasonably under control. Was now able to go out, and see what life was like, the same as almost anyone else.

In the run up to the trip, my worries about what might happen, popped up regularly. Started reading cards more regularly, as well as planning on taking some extra meds with me. No matter how many times I read the cards, for that week, of the trip, the same representatives of danger and tragedy kept on coming up. This happened on a daily basis, the few weeks or so, before the trip. It was enough to make me wonder what was going to happen. Consistently, the second…

--

--

Michael Kupperberg

San Francisco native, lived mostly in the Bay Area, spent time being a hippie, a real estate broker, residence hotel manager, living in the country, life is goo