My Body, My Choice, Really?!

Michael Kupperberg
4 min readFeb 7, 2022

Does one who says that really believe it?

It sounds like such a good statement, yet most people seek to limit it to their chosen area and deny it to all other possibilities. This is a brief sketch of some of those areas and why it might be chosen by some. Making it a case of only for me but not for thee.

The most prevalent use is in the field of abortion. A woman has a right to choose. No questions asked, you say. Yet according to Gallup, from 1973 to date, at least 64 to 78 percent of all women want some barriers or limits to it. Just how much choice is to be allowed, is still a question in flux.

As the reader may well know, the writer is a man, who will never need an abortion. As an individual, should he be coerced into aiding a woman, who is insistent on getting one? It is my body, is it also my right to decide what it is that will be aided by me and what is denied by me, such aid? In the question of aid, there is also the acceptance that it is beyond my views to deny the freedom to choose or obtain an abortion to any women, merely the question of whether it is inherent that they must be helped in the process by me, ignoring the taxes, state only, that might be used to provide aid to a woman who wants one. Who gets to decide what a given body must do, even if it crosses an ethical line, so long as no life or physical harm is done?

This issue is and has been beaten to death a number of times, it is not my intention to dwell on it indefinitely. So moving right along, what is the…

--

--

Michael Kupperberg

San Francisco native, lived mostly in the Bay Area, spent time being a hippie, a real estate broker, residence hotel manager, living in the country, life is goo